## State of Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development

**Division of Workforce Solutions** 

## DWD 295.07 (4) Apprenticeship Probationary Period

The Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development proposes an order to amend s. DWD 295.07 (4), relating to the apprenticeship probationary period.

## Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce Development

**Statutory authority:** Sections 106.01(9) and 227.11, Stats.

Statutes interpreted: Section 106.01, Stats.

The proposed rule provides that the apprenticeship probationary period shall be a period up to 25% of the indenture hours of the apprenticeship and may not exceed 12 calendar months. The current rule provides that the apprenticeship probationary period may not exceed 6 months.

The department, in consultation with the Wisconsin Apprenticeship Advisory Council, is proposing this change for the following reasons:

- When the current rule was promulgated, most apprenticeship programs were 3 years or less years in length. Now 5 years is more the norm.
- There has been significant growth in the number of apprentices and local committees are having a difficult time reviewing all the apprentices in time to meet the six month deadline.
- Six months does not give apprentices sufficient time to correct their deficiencies, and some potentially good apprentices are not being given a chance to improve.
- In the past most apprentices were indentured in early summer, just before school begins. It is now customary to bring apprentices in year round. In some cases, committees are unable to assess an apprentice's ability in their related instruction. For example, if apprentices are hired in February, they may not start school until August, so in that example the probationary period is over before the apprentice has begun school.

The Wisconsin Apprenticeship Advisory Council has surveyed all the state trade committees and there is overwhelming support for this change in all sectors of the apprenticeship program.

## SECTION 1. DWD 295.07 (4) is amended to read:

**DWD 295.07 (4)** The indenture shall state the extent <u>length</u> of the probationary period in hours if possible, which may be up to 25% of the indenture hours of the apprenticeship but in no case shall it exceed 6 <u>12</u> calendar months. The probationary period shall constitute part of the apprenticeship period. During the probationary period apprenticeship agreements are voidable by either party upon written notice to the department.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.), Stats.